top of page

Hyena kisses

So a few days ago we decided to be tourists once again. The biggest city in the area I'm in is Harar and what Harar is known for is hyena feeding. So thats what we did. For 100Birr we got to be up close and personal with the hyena. They really are wonderful creatures. The hyenas of Harar are pretty much just a different species of dog. :) But all the same & I love them.

The hyena you see giving kisses above would be Quattro. He was a wonderful young male hyena. Loved the cuddling too. So by up close and personal with the hyenas, I really meant it. I could have sat among them for hours and just studied them. They really are addictive to watch & it definitely won't be the last time I visit them before going home.

And another update! The Zoo on campus really is disastrous but I am now working closely together with the administration of the university to start with transitioning it to a Rescue center. In Ethiopia you apparently can't buy land, so for the time being we only have 6 hectares to work with, but after national recognition, we can apply for more land and then transition completely into a sanctuary! So now I am beginning a project for improving animal welfare in this country, that will last for many years to come! I am very excited & happy to "have to" come back to Ethiopia for years to come.

And a final update! I hate bedbugs. Nasty little beasts. Body is currently covered with 30+ bites and some bruising as well. So here goes the full travellers experience of trying to get them out of everything now. So fun. But hey, it'll be a topic to laugh about.. once they are gone!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page