top of page

Upon Arrival


So to start of, this is crazy different to what I'm used to. That being said, its beautiful here. The women have the most colorful clothing, the men hold hands constantly & I love it here. It hasn't quite occured to me that I will be living here in Haramaya, Ethiopia the next few months. To get an idea of what the local community is like where I am though, check out the gallery that I'll be updating regularly.

But to readers out there who have yet to travel, remember to dream! & not let your dreams be drowned out by your insecurities. If you asked me three years ago, when I graduated high school in China & started university in Denmark, if I'd ever move to Ethiopia..... the answer would be along the lines of "no? are you crazy?".

Today, I'm sitting in my little bedroom on Haramaya University campus, with constant power shortages and no water for any showers. Yet, I am so happy to have gotten the opportunity to move here, and experience a country that the guide books don't really show you.

Moving to a country & continent I haven't visited prior to this trip has, to be honest, scared the sh*t out of me. I've travelled a lot during my life, but moving to an area of the world I've only leared about through Discovery channel & google searches, it really fightening. But I'm happy I took the leap to try something other than the popular destinations for study abroad.

So like Kilroy preaches, take the road less travelled by. If it scares you, it might be a good thing to try.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page