top of page

Messi and African showers

Danakil Depression Day 2&3

After sleeping under the open sky, a five minute walk from an active volcano, we got up at 4am. Returning to the volcano lake, we stood relatively close to the edge, enjoying the life of a volcano. The life of this type of lake was insanely addictive. The sounds, sight, smell (I mean primarily the whiff of sulphur that burned the lungs), it was all so intriguing that Graham and I were some of the last to leave.

Unfortunately, the Danakil Depression isn't exactly a chilly area, so the hike back down the volcano started at 5am to make sure we all got down before it got too hot. Besides twisting an ankel, the hike was a breeze. We laughed as we looked out to the left of the trail, which was where we had been hiking up and down lava rocks, a terrain a little more difficult than a dirt path.

Anyways, the trek ended with a lovely breakfast consisting of oranges, watermelon and scrambled eggs. What a treat. <3 I really mean that too! I miss food from home.

We packed into the cars, ready to head to a small excluded village, far out in.. who knows where. We arrived to the sight of African showers. The BEST shower I ever remember having. What an African shower is, for those who don't know, is what is pictured below. A bucket & a tin can.

African shower <3

After never having felt more clean, we went out for drinks at a local pub. On the way to the pub, we got tackled by kids. The guy pictured with Graham, we have dubbed Messi. He loved Barcelona soccer and I have not ever seen a kid happier from receiving a soccer ball with Barca patterns on it. Messi I will mention again later.

Messi and Graham

Anyways, we got to the pub. THE drink to apparently get: Honey wine + a shot of Ouzo. It wasn't all bad actually, as it was also a great way to get the spirits up. Not that they were ever really down. We returned to some dinner, then crashed real hard, on the floor. But hey, we got some thin mats and blankets, so it was all good.

Waking up in this little town, I had some breakfast followed by the feeling of not knowing what to do with myself. We got over an hour before we were to continue to the salt lakes. So I went outside the compound we had crashed in, were Messi quickly found me, along with some of his friends. A word quickly repeated many times "soccer!" - so I got both the Irish guys out to play soccer with me and the kids.

My soccer boys! Two guys up top are Messi and Neymar :)

15mins before departure - AFRICAN SHOWER!

Departure for: Salt lakes at sundown.

After another completely stunning drive, we finally arrive at the salt lakes of Danakil, where so many come to mine the salt. Once out enjoying the sunset, the drivers of the different cars came out with honey wine. There being a glass or so left in a bottle and them losing track of where the glasses were, I just grabbed the bottle and though why not just be classy? ;) That is until I forgot their tradition for putting Ouzo in the wine. My driver, Daniel, grabs the bottle shortly after and fills it with equal amounts of Ouzo. As fun as that was, the girls and I decided to get adventurous on the way back to camp from the salt lakes.

Singing Ridin' - we sat on the roof of the car nuzzled next to a wheel and some sleeping-bags possibly?

Back in camp, another night under the stars, I loved every second of it (even though the sand at time was literally everywhere). Goodnight world :)


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page